Skip to content
News & Updates from Niagara Health

Share This Page

Open letter to Niagara

Posted Apr 16th, 2021

Open letter to Niagara

Niagara Health is experiencing unprecedented pressures and needs our community’s support to help protect capacity for life-saving critical care and other patient services. The situation is serious in Niagara, as it is across the province.

More than 70 leaders from across the region are supporting Niagara Health and our healthcare providers who are working full out to care for Niagara residents.

We strongly urge every member of our community to follow public health guidelines 100% of the time. It will save lives.

To the Niagara community,

Now more than ever we are #InItTogether and need to support one another as we fight through the third wave of this dreadful pandemic.

We’ve vaccinated more than 24% of Niagara’s residents, beginning with those in the highest risk populations. More than 125,000 doses have been administered in our community, and the number of COVID-19 vaccinations increases each day by the thousands. 

At the same time, however, there is reason for concern. Niagara Health is experiencing unprecedented pressures and is asking for your help to protect capacity for life-saving critical care and other patient services. This is also the case for hospitals across the province and beyond. 

Let’s remember the 379 people who contracted COVID-19 and died, along with their loved ones who are grieving these terrible losses. There are currently 1,405 active cases in our community, a number that’s been growing at a concerning rate over the past number of weeks.

There have been so many challenges thrown our way over the past 14 months. We know people are hurting and we know you are frustrated.

Now more than ever we need to support one another. Follow public health guidelines – masking, physical distancing, handwashing and keeping contact with members of your household only. Support local businesses – stores, restaurants, wineries and other merchants. And be kind.

We are #InItTogether 

Bunny Alexander
Chair, Board of Directors
Niagara Health
Lynn Guerriero
President and Interim CEO
Niagara Health
Dr. Johan Viljoen
Chief of Staff
Niagara Health

Morgan Alcock
Fire Chief, Township of Wainfleet

Carolyn Askeland
Executive Director, Community Support Services of Niagara

Vance Badawey
MP, Niagara Centre

Roslynn Baird
Executive Director, Indigenous Diabetes Health Circle

Tony Baldinelli
MP, Niagara Falls

Mishka Balsom
CEO, Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce

Sue Barnett
Chair, Board of Trustees, District School Board of Niagara

Chris Bittle
MP, St. Catharines

Laura Blundell
Executive Director, Niagara Falls Community Health Centre

Jim Borysko
Executive Director, Welland McMaster Family Health Team

Jim Boutilier
Fire Chief, City of Niagara Falls

Jim Bradley
Regional Chair, Niagara Region

MaryLee Bull
Regional Director, March of Dimes Canada

Jeff Burch
MPP, Niagara Centre

Frank Campion
Mayor, City of Welland

Camillo Cipriano
Director of Education, Niagara Catholic District School Board

Dr. David Dec
Chair, Niagara Region Community Vaccine Coordination Taskforce

Jim Diodati
Mayor, City of Niagara Falls

Betty Disero
Lord Mayor, Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake

Terry Dixon
Fire Chief, City of Thorold

Jennifer Dockstader
Executive Director, Fort Erie Native Friendship Centre

Karl Dockstader
Executive Director, Niagara Regional Native Centre

Sandra Easton
Mayor, Town of Lincoln

Adam Eckhart
Fire Chief, City of Welland

Dolores Fabiano
Executive Director, South Niagara Chamber of Commerce

Gervan Fearon
President and Vice Chancellor, Brock University

Dennis Fisher
Fire Chief, Town of West Lincoln

Janice Gardner-Spiece
Executive Director, Community Addiction Services of Niagara

Nancy Garner
Executive Director, Quest Community Health Centre

Wayne Gates
MPP, Niagara Falls

Kevin Gibson
Mayor, Township of Wainfleet

Frank Greco
Executive Director, Brain Injury Community Re-Entry Niagara

Dr. Mustafa Hirji
Acting Medical Officer of Health, Niagara Region Public Health

Warren Hoshizaki
Director of Education, District School Board of Niagara

Greg Hudson
Fire Chief, Town of Lincoln

Dean Iorfida
Board Chair, Niagara Falls Community Health Centre

Jeff Jordan
Mayor, Town of Grimsby

Marvin Junkin
Mayor, Town of Pelham

Sean Keays
Chief Administrative Officer, Foyer Richelieu

Mary Keith
Executive Director, Niagara North Family Health Team

Sean Kennedy
President, Niagara College

Teena Kindt
Chief Executive Officer, Alzheimer Society of Niagara Region

Scott Lawson
Fire Chief, City of Port Colborne

Bob Lymburner
Fire Chief, Town of Pelham

Bryan MacCulloch
Chief, Niagara Regional Police Service

Ken MacKenzie
Executive Director, ARID Recovery Homes

Jeff McCormick
Fire Chief, City of St. Catharines

Tara McKendrick
Executive Director, Canadian Mental Health Association, Niagara Branch

Taralea McLean
Executive Director, Bridges Community Health Centre

Constance McKnight
Chief Executive Officer, De dwa da dehs nye>s Aboriginal Health Centre

Marianne McRae
Executive Director, Meals on Wheels Niagara Falls/NOTL

Ed Melanson
Fire Chief, Town of Fort Erie

Dr. Jennifer Mueller
Lead Physician, Welland McMaster Family Health Team

Carol Nagy
Executive Director, Hospice Niagara

Niagara Ontario Health Team - Équipe Santé Ontario Niagara (NOHT- ESON)

Sam Oosterhoff
MPP, Niagara West

Lynne Pay
Chief Executive Officer, Hotel Dieu Shaver Health and Rehabilitation Centre

Wayne Redekop
Mayor, Town of Fort Erie

Frank Ruberto
Executive Director, Niagara Medical Group Family Health Team

Nick Ruller
Fire Chief, Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake

Walter Sendzik
Mayor, City of St. Catharines

Walter Sguazzin
Executive Director, United Mennonite Home

Jason Shawana 
Executive Director of NPAAMB Indigenous Youth and Employment Training

Kevin Smith
Chief, Niagara Emergency Medical Services

Bill Steele
Mayor, City of Port Colborne

Jennie Stevens
MPP, St. Catharines

Carol Stewart-Kirkby
Executive Director, Portage Medical Family Health Team

Wendy Sturgeon
Executive Director, Niagara Chapter-Native Women Inc.

Ru Tauro
Executive Director, Oak Centre

Bill Thomson
Acting Fire Chief, Town of Grimsby

Terry Ugulini
Mayor, City of Thorold

Glen Walker
Executive Director, Positive Living Niagara

Nadine Wallace
Executive Director, Contact Niagara for Children's and Developmental Services

Tim Wright
Board Chair, Welland McMaster Family Health Team

Niagara Health System