Board of Directors

Share This Page

Our Board of Directors is comprised of dedicated volunteers from across the Niagara region. This diverse group is committed to ensuring high-quality, safe, sustainable care and is accountable to the community.

The Board is made up of the following individuals.

Bernice (Bunny) Alexander

Bernice (Bunny) Alexander

Read bio

Larry Boggio - Board of Directors - NHS

Larry Boggio

Read bio

John Bragagnolo - Board of Directors - NHS

John Bragagnolo

Read bio

Marti Jurmain - Board of Directors - NHS

Marti Jurmain

Read bio

Dr. Ron Mergl - Board of Directors

Dr. Ron Mergl

Read bio

Ken Kawall - Board of Directors - NH

Ken Kawall

Read bio

John MacDonald - Board of Directors

John MacDonald

Read bio

Murray Paton - Board of Directors - NHS

Murray Paton

Read bio

Charles Rate - Board of Directors

Charles Rate

Read bio

Cathy Sutherland - Board of Directors - NHS

Cathy Sutherland

Read bio

Rob Tiffin - Board of Directors - NHS

Rob Tiffin

Read bio

Barry Wright - Board of Directors - NHS

Barry Wright

Read bio

Niagara Health is seeking two (2) new members for our Community Advisory Committee and we are reaching out to you!

Learn more

Contact information

Email Danielle Dube
905-378-4647, ext. 43103

Board Executive

John MacDonald Chair, Board of Directors

John Bragagnolo - Vice-Chair, Board of Directors

Ken KawallTreasurer

Dr. Suzanne JohnstonSecretary (ex officio role held by the President)

Board Committees

Quality Committee
Larry Boggio -Chair
Marti Jurmain - Vice-Chair

Governance Committee
John BragagnoloChair
Bunny Alexander - Vice-Chair

Resources & Audit Committee
Ken KawallChair
Cathy SutherlandVice-Chair

Medical Advisory Committee (ex officio role always held by the Chief of Staff)
Dr. Thomas Stewart, Chair

Non-Board Committee Members

In addition to the 12 Independent Directors serving on the Niagara Health Board of Directors, three non-Board Committee Members were reappointed as the Board approved the Standing Committees for 2016/17. 

These individuals are:  Mario DeDivitiis, Michael Lethby and Ashleigh Miatello-Skrubbeltrang.  The Board’s Standing Committees consist of the Governance Committee, Quality Committee and Resources and Audit Committee.

Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee was established to ensure linkages to the community. This important point of contact speaks to the organization’s commitment to enhancing community engagement and two-way dialogue about important decisions and developments regarding the hospital. The Committee is made up of individuals from across the region, and is chaired by Niagara Health Board Member, Larry Boggio, and is also represented by Niagara Health Board Member Marti Jurmain.

Committee Members are:

John Bullivant, Rose Dzugan, Liz Froese, Greg Furtney, Richard Martinelli, Joy Russell, and John Storm. 

Ex-Officio Directors

Dr. Suzanne Johnston

Dr. Suzanne Johnston President of Niagara Health - Board of Directors - NHS

Read Bio

Dr. Thomas (Tom) E. Stewart

Dr. Thomas Stewart - Board of Directors - NHS

Read Bio

Derek McNally

Derek McNally

Read Bio

Dr. Parminder Brar

Dr. Brar

Read Bio

Niagara Health System